Take2: Windows XP SP3 vs. Ubuntu 8.04: bigger and better!

I’d be very ungrateful if I started this article with anything but thanking everyone who has read or commented on my previous post. I also appreciate all the websites who embraced my effort. At first, I was completely overwhelmed by the huge number of visits and comments—either here, on this blog, or on other websites, especially www.osnews.com . Later, when the ecstasy subsided, I started feeling a little ashamed of myself for not doing a better job. In fact, I didn’t expect my article to receive that much attention. It was just a one-man effort with very little knowledge. I would also like to thank my friend Eng. Ahmad Bakdash for his generous support.

I thoroughly read all comments and suggestions, but I was a little bit undecided about repeating the test. I was afraid of being misjudged by readers who tend to take things very seriously. I’ve always been aware that my little experience and resources will always keep me from doing a conclusive benchmark. I stated that clearly in my previous article but many readers missed it. Eventually, I couldn’t resist doing another test with some mistakes corrected to see how it would go. But again, it is nearly impossible for me to do a perfect benchmark, and it is absolutely impossible to satisfy every reader. I can only do my best.

Continue reading